Cowlitz Transit Authority Seeks For and Against Committee Members

On April 10, 2024, the Cowlitz Transit Authority passed a resolution to annex Lexington and Beacon Hill into the Cowlitz Public Transportation Benefit Area, aka the RiverCities Transit service area. This area is currently served by Route 411, a pilot project, including ADA paratransit service.

On August 6, 2024, a ballot measure on the annexation must be confirmed by a majority of the voters in the eight precincts that make up those neighborhoods, as it will raise the sales tax in that area by 3/10ths of 1 percent ($0.003).

The Transit Authority seeks members of the public willing to represent the “for” and “against” committees on the ballot measure. For and against committees will write a statement either in favor or in opposition to the ballot measure. Each committee needs a spokesperson and one to three listed members.

Please see pages 15-19 of the Cowlitz County Elections 2024 Jurisdiction Manual for the rules and page 24 of the Manual for the submission form, which RiverCities Transit must forward to the Elections Office.

Please contact Jim Seeks, Transit Manager, 360-442-5663 or [email protected] if you wish to be a member of a “for” or “against”                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       committee, or contact Cowlitz County Elections at 360-557-3005 or [email protected] for more information. Deadline is Friday, May 3, 2024.

Accessibility Advisory Committee

This nine-member volunteer committee assists and advises the City of Longview on the most appropriate way to make its programs, services, activities, and facilities accessible to all of its residents and visitors. Click here to learn more about the committee. Click here to apply to serve on the committee.